Posted by: Clem | January 24, 2009

5k at 5

team20adventure1

Did anyone watch the episode of Oprah this week on teen obesity?  Gosh, it was a tear jerker and it really touched my heart.  Alfred and I have been through many Personal Success seminars like that one and can’t wait for our kids to experience it too.  One of the thing that I am proud of is that the cycle of obesity stops with my family.  Both my father’s and my mother’s side has a history of diabetes and obesity.  My mother -in-law has struggled with her weight for a as long as I’ve known her.  In middle school I ate 2 Big Mac’s, Large fries, and a large shake for 1 meal.  By the time I was in high school I was a size 12.  But after graduation, I played no sports and had to work to pay the bills.  This is when it became harder to control my weight.  Today, I am 10 sizes smaller and don’t eat meat.  And now my kids run in races, exercise, play sports, and try new physical activities regularly.  My daughter learned to snow ski at 3, ran her first 1 mile race at 4, and started doing 5k’s at 5 (she ran 95% of the 3.1 miles last Saturday at the No Sun Fun Run!).  We are laying down a foundation to change the course of our family tree.  To change the future, it starts with me.     

p12400491-copy

Congratulations to Kent Meridian Boot Camper, Autumn Cummings, for running in her first 5k and overcoming the voices within.
Congratulations to Kent Meridian Boot Camper, Autumn Cummings, for running in her first 5k…overcoming the voices within.
Responses

  1. way to go everybody!


Leave a Reply

Categories

